Proof

Proof

There was something here a minute ago,
now it is gone, just as easily as dropping the filter
of a cigarette onto a footpath.

Shamefully, it deserved its fate too,
some ungainly island bird unequipped
to handle plague rats and dogs and agriculture.

I didn’t leave any proof or evidence
I cleaned up the shell casings from my delete key
and scrubbed the paper with bleach.

I’m kidding, I’ll always have the words I erased,
I didn’t destroy them, but kept them as proof
that this didn’t spring out fully formed, but

when it was all over, feeling self-referential
I dressed up a little mannequin to stand where it
should have been, and set it to greet the customers.

Leave a Reply

